No sweets and my sweet mother

This week was cray cray! It was teacher’s appreciation week (only 18 days of school left!) and I was partly responsible for some of the things at school each day.  But, I did feel the love from my students and from the parent volunteers with the cards and lunches.  This week wasn’t my best “healthy” week, because I had so many meals away from home.  Soooo, after Wednesday’s indulgence of sweets (I ate a piece of cake, 3 cookies, and a cupcake!) at school, I decided I would go 30 days without sweets.  I need to get my stuff back together, ASAP! Here are my eats.

We had fish tacos Sunday and Monday.

IMG_0297

Tuesday I had a student council event at a Mexican restaurant and I made monster cookies for teachers on behalf of student council.

IMG_0301 IMG_0299

Wednesday and Thursday we ate stir fry….  Brown rice, gulf shrimp, and sautéed frozen veggies.  This is a super quick dinner that I recommend.

IMG_0303

Friday we had a happy hour after school so we ate at a Mexican restaurant way late.

Saturday morning, I made some eggs and enjoyed a bowl of yogurt with mango and pineapple. 

IMG_0305 IMG_0306

For lunch, I cleaned out the fridge and ate some left-over chicken and potatoes with some guacamole and peppers. 

IMG_0307

Also,I had to chaperone prom.  So Luisa and I stopped at a Mexican restaurant before prom and I also snacked at prom when we got there. 

prom

Do you get the point?! I LOVE Mexican food but I haven’t had sweets/candy since Wednesday.  And boy did I turn down fro-yo at school, cookies and cake at the luncheon, and cheesecake at prom.  So I guess I had a small victory. 

Real quick shot out to my amazing mother.  I really don’t know what I would do without you and I can’t imagine the day I can’t pick up the phone to talk to you about school, my husband, my friends,and my future.  Also, my mom knows how to have fun! She laughs just as much as me and knows how to have a good time.

bbq88 wedding200

Question: What are you doing with your mother today?

Leave a Reply

