What’s the gist on kombucha?

If you are viewing this on a smart phone, scroll to the bottom of the post and open the full site to read the text.

What is Kombucha?

Kombucha is a fermented tea.  It can be made with black or green tea or a combination of both.  In order to make kombucha you need a SCOBY.  A SCOBY is an acronym for a symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast.  Why would you want to drink bacteria??!?! This is GOOD bacteria.  Good bacteria helps fight off the bad bacteria in your gut and in turn this keeps your immune system healthier.

Why drink Kombucha?

Did you know that 80% of your immune system comes from your digestive system? So if you are eating/drinking crap, you may have an explanation why you feel like crap all the time….just sayin’.

Funny Sports Ecard: Have you tried the 10 day 'Stop eating crap all the time' cleanse?

(source)                                                                                (source)

If your bacteria is off balance (to much bad) your health will suffer.  If you have a problem with headaches, allergies, heartburn /indigestion, eczema, joint pain, or an autoimmune disease you really should consider adding in fermented foods into your daily diet.

(source)                                                                      (source)

If kombucha doesn’t meet your fancy, you might consider checking out my previous post on kefir.  You may also consider sauerkraut (it should be refrigerated when bought in the grocery store if it is fermented), or other fermented vegetables.

Other things that can affect the bacteria in your gut are: stress, exercise, antibiotics, anti-bacterial soaps (so put away all that hand sanitizer!).  If you should remove anything to improve your health start with soda! Yes, diet soda is just as bad as regular soda! Also,  try to reduce your sugar intake which causes the growth of bad bacteria and yeast in the gut.  I sound like a professional, huh?  I should mention I have read countless articles on the importance of good/bad bacteria and fermented foods.  Put down your fashion magazine or your 50 Shades of Gray and educate yourself!

Where can I find Kombucha?

I purchased my first kombucha from Hy-Vee in Waterloo, IA.  I had never heard of it, but it was something my sister introduced me to (thanks sissy). Who knew you could buy this at Hy-Vee? I started to notice kombucha in other grocery stores….HEB, Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Randalls.  One bottle cost $3.49!  Who can afford to drink this stuff?!??! Not this chica! After I fell in love with this drink, and realized I can’t afford this taste, I decided I would look into buying my very own SCOBY.  I bought a SCOBY online from kombuchakamp.com and have never turned back.  I know brew 15 bottles every 10 daysish and both me and Matt enjoy an ice-cold kombucha with dinner EVERY night.  It is simply refreshing and delicious.

So who is ready to try mine?

No really, my kombucha beat my sister’s in a blind taste test during our family’s Christmas this past year.

If you are a Texan, I see you often, and you leave a comment…. I will deliver you the best bottle of Jen’s homemade kombucha BUT you will need to return the bottle 😉  Stay tuned for the instructions on how to make and bottle kombucha TOMORROW!

Questions: Would you pay $3.50 for a bottle of kombucha at the store?

Do you want to try kombucha?

One thought on “What’s the gist on kombucha?

  1. Pingback: How to Make Kombucha | busychica

Leave a Reply

