A Texan’s Easter

Well Hello!  I really want to thank you for reading this blog. Yea YOU…THANK YOU! Yesterday I hit 500 views and it has only been a little over a week since starting this blog.  So exciting!  Anyways, Easter was a fabulous day for this chica.

A little off topic….look what arrived in the mail on Saturday.  I ordered some infused fermented cod liver oil in coconut oil.  I have had 1 teaspoon of it every morning since….Not the best tasting, but has some killer vitamin A&D.

IMG_0138

We woke up early, ate bacon, eggs, and toast, and off we went to church.  We went to a new church on Sunday and I truly enjoyed myself (I think Matt did too). It is a Methodist church that is kind of in our neighborhood.  Even though I am Presbyterian, I would consider Methodist to be very similar-not to mention that there aren’t many Presbyterians in southern Texas…  The church was very welcoming and the pastor is 30-somethingish.  I guess it is easier to connect and understand someone that isn’t 75.  You know what I mean? I hope we go back this Sunday.

After we got home for church we rushed around to get out of our church clothes and into our workout clothes.  It was like 80 degrees out and I was itching to get in some exercise before we indulged in out Texas Easter grub.  We ran a mile to the park and did our infamous “park workout.”  It is a lot of fun believe it or not.  We did 5, 50 yard sprints, dips on the picnic table, inclined pushups on the slide, pull ups on the monkey bars (Matt has to lift me up to even complete one), declined pushups on the bench, squats, and good mornings.  It was a killer workout and we got our sweat-on and some vitamin D….hehehe that’s the sun people!  We ran another mile back home and that was that.  My hammies are CRAZY sore, I guess that means it was a good workout.

When we got home we finished our food prep for the week and worked on the ribs.  We put the ribs in the oven and I attempted to make “healthy” homemade cornbread  TWICE.  Needless to say, I wasted some of my good kefir and raw milk on my failed attempts.  I don’t know what happened, but there had to be some type of chemical reaction between the milk/baking soda/baking powder.  The mix literally got foamy and was bubbling.  I tasted it, though I prolly shouldn’t have, and it tasted like alcohol.  Weird I know… I poured both attempts down the drain and off we went to Randall’s to buy the cheap crap because Matt insisted on having corn bread!  You know those packet/envelope thingys that cost $0.59.  Ugh!  I guess I could give in on one thing since I had slaved in the kitchen and made homemade potato salad and coleslaw.  I will reveal these recipes soon….While at Randall’s, I also purchased some daffodils.  Check um’ out in one of the below pics.  They look soooo pretty and scream SPRING! 

IMG_0141

 Beef sausages from whole foods.

IMG_0140

We cooked a full rack, but we split it for 2 dinners.

We enjoyed our Easter dinner Texas style.  There was no ham, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, rolls, sibling bonding, card playing, back rubs from my dad, or back tickling from my mom, but there were ribs, sausage, potato salad, coleslaw, cornbread, and my honey, Matt.  What more could this chica ask for?!?!!?!

IMG_0144 IMG_0146 IMG_0147

Ice cream….. Blue Bell’s Rocky Mountain Road.  It was worth it, trust me!

 Question: What was the highlight of your Easter?

Leave a Reply

